Baby Heid’s First Picture

After waiting over a month since we’d seen those two little pink lines, we finally had our first doctor’s visit. For most insurance companies, it’s standard to wait until you’re 8 – 9 weeks along before your first appointment and ours is no exception! I had been anxiously awaiting this day for weeks as this was the day we’d get to see the baby and hear the baby’s heart beat, ensuring everything was progressing normally.

After what felt like forever of small talk, going over my {lengthy} medical history, a Q&A session, and an exam, my doctor finally brought in the ultrasound machine. With Jared by my side, we watched the screen in awe as the baby took shape. The doctor turned up the volume and for the first time, we heard the baby’s heartbeat. It was another indescribable and unforgettable moment that melted my heart and tears welled up in my eyes. We continued to watch as the baby kicked its little feet and moved its tiny arms. Then the doctor smiled as she said, “The baby’s waving to you – ‘Hi Mom! Hi Dad!'” and my tears of joy started streaming down my cheeks. I am so in love!

4/30/12 – 9 weeks

We were asked by many what the “circle thing” was – that’s the yolk sac. It functions as a source of nourishment for the baby until the placenta fully forms (around week 10 or so). Then it disappears.

We won’t be able to find out if the baby’s a boy or girl until sometime near the end of June. And if you’re the betting kind, like my husband, you can get in on the fun – Jared wants to set up a betting pool! More details to follow later on that.

Q&A time! How’s mommy-to-be feeling??
Feeling tired? Yes, exhausted. Always. My new bedtime is 9pm. And that’s with a nap in the middle of the day!
Feeling sick? I’ve been slightly nauseated since I was 5 weeks along, but I welcomed it because it’s generally a sign things are going well with the pregnancy. The first few days, it hit right around lunch time – being at work + feeling nauseous = miserable. So, Jared and I prayed about it, asking God to adjust the time to one that would be easier for me to handle. The very next day, my “morning sickness” hit at 5 o’clock, when I was home from work and able to be in my p.j.s on the couch. Amazing!! I instantly said a thank you prayer, and my “morning sickness” has continued to hit right around 5pm each day. I also found that if I eat small, frequent mini meals throughout the day and stay well hydrated (like 64oz.+ hydrated!), I feel the best and have minimal sickness. I’ve been very fortunate to not be super sick and am so thankful!
Cravings? I had the first one this week – Milk. I can’t drink enough of it! I want it with everything.
Mood swings? Oh, ya. But Jared’s been really great about it.
Weight gain? 1 to 2 lbs. It fluctuates.
Showing? A little bit, actually. I was shocked by this. It could just be first trimester bloating. And no one would probably even notice the little bit of showing anyway.

2 responses

  1. Hey Girl, Did you know that ginger will take away nausea. Just go to your local health food store and get some empty gelatin capsules. Get a container of ginger from the spice isle at your grocery store, put the ginger on a plate or better yet waxed paper, open the capsules up, scoop up the ginger into the capsules, and take one, two, or three, whatever it takes to calm the nausea. It’s good to drink plenty of water with them. And you’re right on the spot in increasing your water consumption. Way to go “new-mommy-to-be”!!!!! I’m soooo excited for you. Love you, AJ

Leave a Reply

