Wiggle, Wiggle, Wiggle!

The day after our reveal BBQ was 6/24 and Jared and I had been running around all day. Church, cleaning, errands, and weekend chores. It was an exhausting day. I finally laid down around 10:30pm and began playing on our iPad (which Jared and I share, although he believes I hog it all the time and it’s more mine than his… he might be right!). Within 10 minutes or so, I felt a wiggle in my tummy. I wasn’t sure if it was the baby or not, particularly because my dr. said my placenta is “on top” on the baby, so any movement had to be strong enough to make it through the placenta to me before I’d feel it. Combine that with being a first time mommy and her guesstimate was that I wouldn’t feel the baby move until closer to 20 – 22 weeks. I was sad about this news, by the way. I wanted to feel her move sooner than half way through my pregnancy.  I was only 16 weeks 6 days (still 3 whole weeks away from my dr.’s 20 week guess), so I was second guessing the little wiggle I had just felt… until it happened again. And the second time was even bigger! I knew without a doubt it was my baby girl wiggling around in there. I was so excited! Jared was in the office at the time, so I yelled, “Babe! I just felt the baby move!” He came running in (clearly, he was also very excited) and asked if she was still moving. She wasn’t, or least I couldn’t feel it anymore, it was only those two wiggles. But I’m so glad we were together to share the exciting moment together. And I loved that it happened the day after we found out she was a girl – so special!

She has been wiggling up a storm in there since then. People have asked me to describe what it feels like, but it’s not easy. Some women say it feels like butterflies, some say it’s like popcorn popping, but for me, it’s more like a goldfish swimming around in there. Not a little goldfish, I mean one of those big bubble type goldfish. The ones that move their whole body when they swim. Like this one!

Anyway, Baby Girl Heid has been “swimming” up a storm in my belly since then. Her movements are getting stronger and more frequent and she moves the most when I’ve had a busy day and finally rest or after my daily walks. Many say (and studies have shown) that your daily movements rock the baby to sleep and when you finally lay/sit down, the rocking stops and the baby wakes up and moves around. I have to admit, I like to busy myself up during the day so she moves a lot at night 🙂  I absolutely love it!

♥ ♥ ♥

Leave a Reply

