Where have we been?!?

That’s what you may have been asking… and the answer is here, there, and everywhere! When we’ve been “here” (at home), we’ve been busy preparing for our little girl – finishing up home projects, preparing her room, and putting together more baby furniture and gear than we even knew existed! When we’ve been “there” (at Babies R Us, Carters, and nearly any other baby store you can think of!), we’ve been busy buying baby things for our little girl – swaddlers, sleepsacks, mattress covers, and more. And when we’ve been “everywhere,” we’ve been busy enjoying every moment of this journey God has taken us on. So, sorry for the delay in updates and posts… as you can see, we have been busy!

In the midst of being busy, I was hit with back pain around month #5. Not just the normal pregnancy back pain, this was sometimes excruciating, bring me to tears pain. My little torso couldn’t quite accommodate all the room this little girl needed, so when she started getting bigger and everything started moving up, it began pushing on my rib cage, which pushed vertebrates in my back together, which pinched nerves on the right side of my spine. If you’ve ever had a pinched nerve, you know the pain can be unbearable at times. The only thing that relieved the pain was standing up or laying flat on my side with a heating pad against the aching nerves. And needless to say, it made it difficult to do much. After having a sit/stand workstation installed at work (doing a desk job and sitting all day was beyond painful!), I got some relief but not much. So in September, my doctor reduced my work schedule from 8 hours a day down to 6 so I could rest while laying down at home a little more during the day. That helped and I made it to the end of my 35th week at work and called it quits! It’s standard for doctors to take you off work at 36 weeks now (unless of course you wanted to continue working). I, however, took advantage of my 36 week mark and am now off work until March. Woo hoo!!

So in the next couple weeks, I plan to update our blog with the things we’ve done over the past few months…that is, if our little girl doesn’t decide to come before I get a chance to! I’m 37 weeks now and considered “full term” so it’s game on now! I am secretly hoping she stays in there until her due date, 12.3.12. Only 10% or so of babies are born on their actual due date and I know that she will come whenever she decides she’s ready, but I really love her due date. More realistically, I think she will make her entrance earlier than that. Here’s why:

1. She measured around 6lbs when I was 35 weeks and she gains about 1/2 lb. a week. That puts her at about 7 lbs already… ultrasounds can be off, but Jared and I were both in the high 7’s when we were born, giving her another two weeks or so to reach that weight. And I can’t even imagine having an 8 lb plus baby, so if she decides to wait until her due date (or later), she just better stick to less than 8 lbs!

2. She dropped near the end of my 35th week, beginning of my 36th, and I started having Braxton Hicks contractions a few days later. Based on this, her birthday could be a couple weeks away, maybe in my 38th week. Sometimes labor is still a month away from this point, but sometimes these are indicators that it is only a couple weeks away (our birth teacher guessed she’d arrive in my 38th week based on this).

3. I was born on Valentines Day and my mom was born on the 4th of July… making the possibility of her being born on Thanksgiving very realistic! Which also happens to land in my 38th week.

So we’ll see! Ultimately, she will make her entrance into this world when her and God decide it’s time. Whether that’s early or late according to my due date doesn’t matter, it will be the perfect date. And we are so looking forward to meeting her on her birthday.

Leave a Reply

